Quartett is a very personal review of Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Choderlos de Laclos. Heiner Müller explains in Quartett’s prologue, that rather than being based on the novel, the idea came after reading the prologue by Heinrich Mann published in the German translation. Luca’s Francesconi piece is built basically on monologues of poetical and brutal prose, with a lot of subtext. Among the words, irony, sarcasm, seduction, and a good dose of black humor appears.

Ficha Técnica


Compositor: Luca Francesconi

Dirección de la Orquesta: Susanna Mälkki

Dirección Artística: Àlex Ollé (La Fura dels Baus)

Escenografía: Alfons Flores

Video: Franc Aleu

Vestuario: Lluc Castells

Ayudante de Dirección: Valentina Carrasco

Colaboración Literaria: Júlia Canosa

Iluminación: Marco Filibeck

Diseño sonido – Ircam: Serge Lemouton

Ingeniero sonido – Ircam: Sébastien Naves

Marquise de Merteuil
Kristine Opolais

Vicomte de Valmont
Georg Nigl


Keeping the names of the main characters of the novel Les Liaisons dangereuses, Heiner Müller wrote a version of this work to talk about control, manipulation, power and the distance from the decadent aristocracy from the world surrounding it.

Link copied!
Back to Archive