La Monnaie de Munt



While admitting that to talk about Oedipus was meaning to talk about something that seems to be incomprehensible – the time, the destination, the chance – we warn that Oedipus had never gone away. It was obligatory, so, to reflect in the staging the conviction that under the mud of the years, the myth of Oedipus reborns intact after every rain. The stratum of the centuries only achieve to cover it ephemeral, until the water cleans the land to discover it.

Ficha Técnica

Music direction: Leo Hussain

Concept: Alex Ollé (La Fura dels Baus)

Art direction: Alex Ollé (La Fura dels Baus)

In collaboration with: Valentina Carrasco

Set design: Alfons Flores

Costumes: Lluc Castells

Lighting: Peter Van Praet

Chorus direction: Martino Faggiani


Dietrich Henschel

Andrew Schroeder

Tirésias: Jan-Hendrik Rootering

Créon: Robert Bork

Le Berger: John Graham-Hall

Le Grand-Prêtre: Jean Teitgen

Phorbas: Henk Neven

Le Veilleur: Frédéric Caton

Thésée: Nabil Suliman

Laios: Yves Saelens

Jocaste: Natascha Petrinsky

La Sphinge:
Marie-Nicole Lemieux

Natascha Petrinsky

Antigone: Ilse Eerens

Mérope: Catherine Keen

Une femme thébaine: Kinga Borwoska
Orchestra: La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra & Chorus
Produced by: La Monnaie / De Munt, with the support of Deloitte.
Pictures: (c)La Monnaie-Bernd Uhlig


There is an abyss opened in front of us, mere finite human beings, when we admit that there exists an elastic and elliptical time which defies the notion we have of the temporality of the world that surrounds us.

Link copied!
Back to Archive